Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksAppendix-C-Regulator-Members

CER branding swish

Appendix C: Regulator Members

Ms Chloe Munro | Chair (until 31 March 2017)

Chloe Munro

‘It was a privilege to lead this agency from its inception through many challenges and even more successes. I am proud of the agency’s achievements and reputation, and know it is well placed to continue its work accelerating carbon abatement for Australia.’

Ms Munro has had a distinguished career in both the public and private sectors, with particular expertise in infrastructure and resources.

Prior to her appointment as the Chair of the Clean Energy Regulator, Ms Munro was the Chair of the National Water Commission; the independent non-executive Chairman of AquaSure, the consortium building Victoria’s desalination plant; and a non-executive director of Hydro Tasmania.

Ms Munro has also held senior positions with Telstra, and in the Victorian public sector. Early in her career she worked in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors in Kenya, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Ms Munro holds master’s degrees in mathematics and philosophy from Cambridge University and in business administration from the University of Westminster. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the Institute of Public Administration Australia and was awarded a Centenary Medal for outstanding contribution to public administration in 2001.

Ms Munro finished her five-year term on 31 March 2017.

Ms Anne T Brown | Member

Anne T Brown

Area of focus: Audit committee and risk framework

Ms Brown has substantial experience and knowledge of Australian and international exchange-traded financial markets, risk management, and related infrastructure and regulatory environments. She previously held the position of Chief Risk Officer with ASX Limited, following its merger with SFE Corporation Limited, with responsibility for enterprise-wide risk management, clearing house policy development and risk management, compliance and audit.

Ms Brown represented ASX from 2008 to 2010 as the Chair and executive committee member of the global association of Central Counterparties (CCP12), an influential global industry association involving all major international clearing houses.

Ms Brown is currently a member of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission’s Markets Disciplinary Panel and a member of member of the Finance, Audit & Risk Committee of Monte Sant’ Angelo Mercy College Limited.

Ms Brown holds a degree in accountancy and computer science from Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Michael D’Ascenzo AO | Member

Michael D’Ascenzo

Area of focus: Cross-agency compliance

Mr D’Ascenzo is recognised internationally for his leadership and expertise in administration, strategy and governance, and for his technical and design skills in tax law and superannuation.

Mr D’Ascenzo is a member of the Foreign Investment Review Board and is on the International Monetary Fund’s panel of experts. He is a non-executive director of Australia Post, an adjunct professor of the University of New South Wales and a professorial fellow of Melbourne University. He was previously Commissioner of Taxation and vice-chair of the Organisation for Economic Co operation and Development’s Forum on Tax Administration.

Mr D’Ascenzo holds degrees in economics and law from the Australian National University.

In 2010, Mr D’Ascenzo was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to public administration, particularly through reform and innovative engagement with the taxation profession and government agencies.

Ms Virginia Malley | Member

Michael D’Ascenzo

Area of focus: Market development and client education and engagement

Ms Malley has extensive experience in the investment and banking sectors, including as a company director. She has expertise in financial and environmental markets, risk management, corporate governance, regulatory compliance custody and trusteeship.

Ms Malley is a non-executive director of Perpetual Superannuation Limited and Perpetual Equity Investment Company Limited, a member of the Sydney Airport Trust Compliance Committee, and a member of the board of Morphic Asset Management and the Nature Conservation Trust of New South Wales. Previously, Ms Malley was the Chief Risk Officer at Macquarie Funds Management Group and a member of various committees at Macquarie focusing on clean technology, the Asia Pacific region, and global private equity. She also served on the boards of Macquarie Investment Management Limited and Bond Street Custodians Limited and was a staff-elected trustee of the Macquarie Bank Staff Superannuation Fund.

Ms Malley holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Applied Finance from Macquarie University, a Graduate Diploma in Environmental Law from the University of Sydney, and a Juris Doctor from the University of Technology, Sydney.

Dr Peter Davis | Member

Peter Davis

Area of focus: Renewable energy

Dr Davis has extensive experience in the Australian energy sector, including 19 years at Chief Executive and General Manager level. His experience includes regulatory and structural reform of critical infrastructure services in both regulated and competitive markets, with particular expertise in renewable energy, energy efficiency and demand-side management.

Dr Davis is a non-executive Director of the Australian Energy Market Operator and a Council Member of the University of Tasmania. From 2004 to 2014 he was Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Aurora Energy Pty Ltd, an energy utility with interests in electricity distribution, generation, retail and gas supply. He was a Director of the Energy Supply Association of Australia (ESAA) from 2008 to 2014, and chaired the ESAA’s Greenhouse Policy Committee.

Dr Davis holds a Doctor of Philosophy from the Solar Energy Research Centre at the University of Queensland, a master’s degree in business administration from Deakin University, an honours degree in science from Monash University and degrees in science and education from the University of Tasmania. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Engineers Australia.

Documents on this pageDocuments on this page

Was this page useful?

preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only preload-image-only